ROC government thanks international community for concern and assistance following devastating earthquake

Since the earthquake struck the coast of eastern Taiwan’s Hualien at midnight on February 6, the international community has consistently conveyed its concern and offered assistance. Such action demonstrates the strength of Taiwan’s friendships with so many nations around the world. MOFA extends its heartfelt appreciation on behalf of the Taiwanese government.

As of 9:00 on February 13, a total of 69 countries, as well as the Central American Integration System, Central American Parliament, European Union, and Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States have conveyed concern and expressed willingness to provide relief supplies or send rescue teams to Taiwan. The 69 countries include Australia, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, the Czech Republic, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Fiji, France, Germany, Guatemala, Haiti, the Holy See, Honduras, Hungary, India, Israel, Italy, Indonesia, Japan, Jordan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, the Marshall Islands, Mexico, Mongolia, Nauru, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, the Philippines, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Korea, Russia, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Singapore, Slovakia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Tuvalu, the United Kingdom, the United States, Venezuela, and Vietnam.

In addition, the Japanese government dispatched a team of seven experts equipped with two high-end life detectors which arrived in Taiwan at noon on February 8. The Singaporean government has also dispatched a C-130 cargo plane to Taiwan carrying relief items such as medical supplies, tents, and flashlights.