MOE Scholarship for People from Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Member Economies (MOE APEC Scholarship) is offered by The Ministry of Education, Republic of China (Taiwan), to encourage young international scholars from APEC member economies to undertake research in Taiwan, to provide them with opportunities to increase their understanding of Taiwan's culture and society, and to promote mutual understanding and interaction between Taiwan and other APEC member economies.

## I. Financial assistance

- 1. Ph.D. Candidates will receive a monthly research allowance of NT\$25,000 and Post Doctoral Fellows will receive a monthly research allowance of NT\$40,000.
- 2. One round-trip, economy-class ticket for the most direct route to Taiwan (The maximum subsidized amount is determined by the MOE.)
- 3. The terms of fellowship are 2 to 6 months.

## II. Eligibility

An international scholar who is a Ph.D. student or a postdoctoral research fellow, with the exception of anyone currently holding an R.O.C. passport, is eligible to apply for an MOE APEC Scholarships.

To be more specific, each applicant shall:

- 1. be a doctoral candidate from an overseas university or a postdoctoral research fellow.
- 2. be neither a Taiwanese national, nor an overseas Taiwanese compatriot.
- 3. not already be residing, studying (including internships), teaching or doing research in Taiwan.
- 4. not have received this award within the last five years.
- 5. not be a recipient of any other R.O.C. government-sponsored scholarship or subsidy.
- 6. not be an exchange student while receiving this award.

## III. Application Procedure

Applications to undertake a research project in Taiwan in the following year must be submitted to the university, tertiary college, or research organization affiliated with the Ministry of Education—such as the Center for Chinese Studies, or the National Academy for Educational Research—in Taiwan at which the applicant would like to undertake research. All the application material stipulated immediately above must arrive at the host institution no later than September 30 (date of receipt) each year.